This is why I’m Hot. . .


My 13-year-old Son, Zachary LOVES (<–that would be the highest level of sarcasm known to man) it when I sing his favorite rap and pop songs…and dance. I have found that despite ALL EFFORTS, my smart, sweet boy still seems to think the worst songs are, and I quote, “awesome, because they have a great beat!” Uh huh. So, I have found the ‘Mother of all ways’ to help him dislike them. One, amazing Mom session at a time. 

It only takes once. When you see ‘your Mom’ belting out the song you are trying to listen to and ‘dropping it like it’s hot’ in the kitchen while she fixes you breakfast….your feelings change about a song. Subconsciously, his brain yells, “Noooooooo!!!!” every time it comes on. The Pavlov Theory works! Now, there is nothing sexy or seductive about my dance moves. In fact, I’m pretty sure they weren’t sexy at 18, either. Even though, I was convinced they were.

This works when driving him to soccer training and practices, too.

A song came on the other day where a young rapper was talking about his woman and how amazing she is (not in those words) and I glance at my Son and say, “Your Dad says this song was written about me…I’m his ‘boo’.”

Zach looks at me, sighs, and says, “You win. that song is now ruined for me.”

Zach was blessed with a great sense of humor and can dish it out as well as he can take it. He is an amazing young man, but I plan on using my awesome song and dance skills to keep him from enjoying “Lil’Wayne” as long as I possibly can.

And yes, I’m putting away money for the therapy he will need one day.

2 thoughts on “This is why I’m Hot. . .

  1. LOVE IT! I dance and sing at the top of my lungs in the car sometimes or at my daughters’ cheer competitions, between routines when they’re playing that kind of music. My best friend’s daughter (also a cheerleader and often in my car) will hide in the floorboard, red-faced with humiliation. Secretly, however, she loves it. 😉 If they’re trying to be cool, my children roll their eyes and say, “That’s my mom. She just DOES that.” Most often, though, they are powerless to overcome their genetic predisposition and just jump right in themselves.

Leave a Reply

