The Military Wife Prayer


I needed this today as I pulled out my Christmas decorations knowing that I would be without him.

I’m sure there is a spouse that needs it as much as I do right now.

A Military Wife’s Prayer
Author Unknown

Give me greatness of heart to see,
The difference between duty and his love for me.

Give me understanding so that I may know,
When duty calls him, he must go.

Give me a task to do each day,
To fill the time while he is away.

When he’s in a foreign land,
Keep him safe in your loving hand.

And Lord, when duty is in the field,
Please protect him and be his shield.

And Lord, when deployment is so long,
Please stay with me and keep me strong.

3 thoughts on “The Military Wife Prayer

  1. I actually wrote this poem for a cafepress notebook I was giving a few friends of mine whose husbands were deploying on the USS Truman at the same time. Had no idea how it would come to be so helpful to so many more women than our little group…

  2. The first time my husband deployed, I was young and we had only been married 20 months. He was leaving on a 12 month deployment and I was a wreck. Less than a month after he left, I got this poem from his commander (a woman of course) in the mail. I needed it so badly and I’ve loved it ever since. Thanks for the reminder.

  3. Thanks Marie. I really needed this.. My husband will be deploying on the 22nd. I dunno what Im going to do most of the time, and this prayer really helps me when I feel lost.

Leave a Reply

