Me vs The Jiggles – Angel Wings


Well, I can’t say that I enjoy the gym and the actual “working out” process that I have been doing over the last month, but I can say I am addicted to the ‘high’ that you feel afterwards. It’s a shame you don’t get the feeling before you work out, because getting to the gym would be a heck of a lot easier.  I come home and instead of sitting still and writing or working on my business plans, I clean or go do something. I feel like a bottle rocket pinging off walls in the room of life. It’s awesome, yet very, very distracting. 

I’m up to 30-35 minutes on the treadmill walking and jogging in 5 minute intervals. <–this is impressive, so be impressed. I follow that with abs and then hit the weight machines to work the rest of my body’s sad little muscles. A friend asked, “Why aren’t you using free weights!?” Well that’s obvious. I’m a klutz and until I feel stronger and more confident in my movements, I will refrain from dropping weights on my toes…or hitting the person next to me with a weight, throwing us both off balance and thus creating a domino effect through the gym of people toppling over. Hypothetically, of course.

It was frustrating at first. I didn’t lose anything the first week. Instead, my clothes fit even tighter and I felt bloated. I told myself my muscles were swelling and that I was holding onto water, but still the feeling of being a sausage in a tight wrapper was not encouraging, to say the least.

I had to talk force myself into going back to the gym each day. I also had not changed my eating habits. I still have desserts and wine. I ate at least a quarter of the 16 lb Turkey last week along with all the sides and I may have consumed 1-2 pies on my own.

So, what’s the damage? I’ve still lost 6 lbs!  I am down to 167.4 and already feel so much better. I’d like to lose 10 more by Christmas. And I really think it’s possible. If I would have lightened up on Thanksgiving, I’m sure I would be looking at a number closer to 10, but that is Ok with me. I am enjoying myself and not feeling like I am missing out at all.

Now my trial membership at the gym is ending tomorrow and I am happy to say that I will be signing up for a full year! I’m actually pretty excited because that includes all the classes and I want my Yoga!! Oh, and they have PIYO! <–That’s cool workout talk for Pilates and Yoga combined. 

I do know that when I reach my goal of 150 lbs, I will be walking around the house in lace bras/underwear and Angel wings from last nights Victoria’s Secret Fashion Show. I’m going to do dishes in them, vacuum and do it all in slow motion while winking at imaginary cameras. It’s going to be awesome.

Cheers to year long gym memberships and angel wings!

Leave a Reply

