Submariner Wives and Email


*Bumping some older posts 🙂 2008

For Submarine Wives, email is golden.  We don’t get phone calls and letters. E-mail is our connection to the one we love. And before there was e-mail. . .gosh, I don’t even want to think about it!  With that said, I feel like I am having a relationship with my computer.  It’s pathetic, I know.  I have my MacBook going all day long.  Granted I spend a ton of time writing every day, but I take it to bed with me. . .Yes, I said bed. I don’t tuck it in and hold it close to me, but it does sit on “The Husbands” side of the bed.  And I’m sure I have mumbled something to it when I am frustrated.  *sigh*. This can’t be healthy.  

The hard part about only getting email is that not all husbands send emails.  And if they do, they are far and few between.  The husbands sub has limits of how many, how often and size.  Some wives are not getting any at all, some a few. This is hard on everyone.

For the wife that isn’t getting them or as many as she would like, remember that he loves you and that there are so many reasons why he is not sending them. He could be extremely busy or it could be hard for him because he can’t be there and writing you makes it all too real. It could also be b/c he just isn’t a writer and for Submariners, they can’t talk about too many things.  They are in a restricted space with the same people doing the same thing day in and day out.  It’s hard.

And for the wives that are getting email, This is my opinion on “sharing your happiness” don’t let that be the first thing you say to another wife, even if you are very close.  Don’t post it on your MySpace and Facebook because I guarantee that there is a wife from your command that will see it and she is sad that she didn’t receive one. You don’t mean to be hurtful, in fact you are just excited.  But, remember that you could be hurting someones feelings.  Be thankful for what you have and remember that it could very well upset your husband’s family too.  Be sensitive, we are family. I’m sure some people don’t care, but I have personally spoken to wives that were upset.  It’s an easy fix.

And last, have fun with emailing.  It shouldn’t always be about finances and the kids.  Be silly, and ask questions. Take this time to get to know each other better.  Just don’t ask about the illegal things he did in his past….remember that EVERYTHING is read!  🙂

Leave a Reply

