Washington or BUST (2010)


For new readers, a little catch up:

Here is how we ended up in Washington State.  My husband was stationed here a year before we were able to rent our home out in GA and make the cross-country journey to be with him. It was the longest year…ever.

Washington or BUST

Ah, the chaos of Navy Life. My husband received orders for a “hot fill” job the last week of November 2009. He then moved 3000 miles across the country to Washington the second week of January 2010.  Since we have school age children and own a house, I have stayed behind to sell the house and let the kids finish their school year. It sounded good when the husband and I sat down and talked about it one evening, but now I think we must have drank more than tea and coffee.

Do you ever have that moment where your heart sinks into your stomach and you say to yourself, “What was I thinking!?”  My husband was on sea duty for 7 years 2 months and 23 days straight, not that I was counting. Finally he is on shore duty and we are 3000 miles apart.  Some would look at us and think, “Wow, they must really not like each other!” To top it off, the Navy did not “do this” to us.

We chose this. Yep. We could have stayed right here in our beautiful home and surrounded by our friends, but we decided as a family that we wanted to explore the rest of the world. So, we are moving to Washington! Well, the husband moved to Washington. We will see if the kids and I ever get there. I know I should be optimistic and point out the good, but honestly this stinks. He’s been living there for three months now without us and I feel our shore duty time we are supposed to have together is ticking away.

I don’t regret our decision to move. In fact, I am still very excited. It’s just when I go to bed alone every night; I think to myself that so far shore duty is very similar to sea duty.  It has not been fun.

Do you know what else isn’t fun? Getting a house ready to sell, then listing and showing it. Not only have I made my house look so amazing that I don’t want to sell it, but I stage it like a museum every day only for people to call in the middle of dinner or when I have some major project started. I have this theory that If I stopped cleaning, more people would call to see it.  I’m just not gutsy enough to try it out.

So now after venting, I want to acknowledge that of course there are worse things in the world.  I am very happy for my husband who is NOT deployed.  I am grateful for these opportunities and I am blessed with a family who is happy and healthy despite being apart. .

I have faith that everything will work out, that my house will sell, and soon I will be writing about my moving adventures.   But it’s hard not to give in to that little feeling in the back of my heart that says, “What were you thinking!?” In moments of weakness I’ve tried asking my husband to just move back. But he seems to think that it would look bad in the Navy’s eyes to request such a thing.  I guess he is right.

I’ve lived in this little town for over 7 years. It’s “safe”.  I need to let go of that.  And if I don’t move, I will miss out on everything in Washington. I’ve never been West of Kansas! This is an opportunity that I shouldn’t pass up. I love the outdoors and can’t wait to go hiking, kayaking, and explore the mountains and parks.   I know I’ll love it.  But, the unknown can be a little scary.

I’m sure a lot of you at some point will have the opportunity to play it safe or take a chance. Whatever that chance may be, make sure you don’t pass it up because of that feeling of caution. You only live once, right?

Suggestions, comments, or Questions you would like to ask Marie? Email Her: mareiangela@mac.com

2 thoughts on “Washington or BUST (2010)

  1. Christy, that is great. Thanks for the kind words. Eventually I will get back to doing speaking engagements. FRG’s is something I have a lot of fun with and look forward to “entertaining” again soon. 😉

  2. I love your honesty and and writing style. I’m a new reader and a Submarine wife as well. I am glad you’re out there. I just printed out your deployment and depresion meeting to share at an upcoming FRG meeting.

Leave a Reply

