Deployment Gremlins


***This and the prior post were written during our last deployment.  This is a continuation of “Deployment Successes” which was posted the day prior. : )

 

Deployment Gremlins

 

So, one of my recent articles was about staying positive and focusing on the successes during deployments.  Now I promise you I have been through a number of deployments where Murphy’s Law and the Deployment Gremlins tested me, but what happened in less than a week really got me thinking that I upset the Deployment Gremlins. 

 

My deployment started off like anyone else’s.  I was in denial thinking that my husband isn’t really leaving.  I asked my husband the same question I ask him every deployment, “Do you think anyone would notice if you just didn’t go!?”  He just gives me “the look” and kisses my forehead. I’ve been asking this question for years.  I’d like to think it is a completely logical question. By the look he gives me, apparently not.

 

That night before my husband left, he accidently dropped my Mac Book.  It is broken, really broken.  It had everything on it.  My appointments, calendar, address book, contact list for work and emails.  It was my planner.  On top of all that I had dozens of articles and columns saved on it.  My husband just a few days prior was looking at hard drives and said I needed one.  I told him I would wait and look around when I went into the city after he left.  He told me I needed to keep my computer backed up.  Yeah, Foreshadowing stinks.  I have to say that I was freaking out on the inside, but told myself that it will be fine.  I quickly wrote a new article talking about deployment successes because my original column was in my Mac.  I wrote this incident off as an accident and didn’t think twice about it.


 

The next morning I dropped the husband off at O’Dark Thirty with our two children in their PJ’s half asleep in the back seat.  We say our goodbyes and the children and I stop at the local Bakery to get breakfast smoothies and muffins!  It is a deployment tradition that helps us get through the first morning.   I got the kids off to school and everything seemed to be fine. But then my article on deployment successes was printed in the paper.  Here is what happened next.  

 

 

  Within the first few days of my husband leaving, every light that is out of reach by standing on a chair went out.   Strange, I thought to myself.  I just shook my head, pulled the twelve foot ladder out of the garage and changed all four of the lights that had simultaneously gone out.  I actually giggled at the whole thing thinking, “Ok the husband is deployed, got it”.

A day or so after this my garage door opener broke.  Now I’m starting to think God is the one giggling as he reminds me that my husband has left, funny, very funny.  So, I can still manually open and close it right?  Not a big deal.  So, I go on with life again.  I joke to my girlfriends and family that it could be worse.  I mean I could have had children in the ER sick or my air-conditioner or car could have been broke. 

 

     I spoke too soon.  I was up the following night until 3ish with my daughter who was sick.  I kept thinking to myself, “Oh, I’ve done it now!”  After a long night and little sleep I had to get up and take care of my yard work.  If I didn’t mow my back yard I wouldn’t be able to see my four pound Yorkie.  That, and it was my yard day and every milspouse knows what happens if you fall out of your routine.  It’s just not pretty.

 

     So out I go, on little sleep to take care of “the jungle”.  It is 80 degrees and beautiful!  I find that I gain a little energy from the sun and fresh air!  It’s great!  I came inside to fill my ice tea when I noticed that it is nicer outside than it is inside.  “OK, I must have not switched on the air all the way”, I think to myself.  I go and look and it is on.  Hmmm.  I’m in complete denial.  I get a chair and stand on it and put my hand up to a vent.  Air is blowing, but it isn’t cold.  I say to myself, “I can fix this”.  I slowly walk out and around my house to the AC unit.  I approach slowly because I don’t know what I am going to find…  It’s on, but the stupid fan isn’t moving.  Crap.  I did all the little “tests” I have learned over the years and nothing worked.  I call the AC repair company and they come out.  Hundreds of dollars later, my AC is working. I felt better thinking that I had gotten all the “deployment gremlins out”. I got in my car to move it (I had to put the lawn stuff away) and a WARNING LIGHT CAME ON!  It is only for some fluid thing, but for Pete’s Sake!! This all happened in less than a week!! I have over three loads of laundry and I’m scared to touch the washer and dryer!       

  

  So, is it all a coincidence??  I guess I’ll never know.  But, I have learned not to taunt the deployment gremlins. In fact, I hope I have made peace with them by writing this column. 

 

Sticking with my prior column, I have had some positive moments. I have had a lot of fun with the kids.  It’s exhausting being a single parent, but it is also very rewarding to be such a huge part of their lives.  An example would be that I am coaching my daughter’s soccer team.  This is “Dad’s territory” since he is the soccer player.  But, because he is away, I felt like I should try it. Especially because the kids know Dad would normally do it.  And even though I am learning along side the 4, 5, and 6 year olds, I am having a blast.  It is something that I would never have done if he were home. 

   

What are my goals for this deployment??  Well, I have a big list.  A few would be: Reading “Soccer for Dummies”, taking a class, and of course what most women would say . . . getting in shape!! 

 

4 thoughts on “Deployment Gremlins

  1. LaLa,
    First, WELOCME!!!
    And a big {HUG} for you! Wow, to be new again. I am so happy you found my blog! I hope you like it and check in often. If you have any questions, just ask. There is no such thing a stupid question. ; )

    And thank you for your comment, I giggled when I read it b/c I was once you. You are extemly strong, you just might not know it yet. ; )

    You never know how strong you can be, until strong is your only choice!

    I hope you have a wonderful day and a blessed Thanksgiving!!!

  2. wow- now that is a crazy week. i’m a new mil spouse and we’re waiting for our first deployment. hubby is med down for now; it could be a few weeks, it could be 4 months until he is med up and then deployed. i don’t think i could handle all of those things going wrong at once!!! i just found your blog today but can i just say that you must be amazing???

  3. Marsha,

    My computer is great for now! I really had no idea how much I used it until it was broken. I now have a external hard drive and the techs at apple were able to save most of my work. Thank goodness!

    Thank you for your service as a military wife and tell your husband thank you for his service as well. I wouldn’t trade this for anything. : )

    It maybe difficult at times, but the friendships alone are worth it, followed by experiences and travel.

    Thanks for your comment, I hope you’ll continue to read!!
    : )

  4. I think I would break down in tears if anything happened to my computer. It’s my life line to the world. My husband recently retired from the Air Force after 25 years of service. I have a ton of happy memories.

Leave a Reply

